AHF Church Government and Leadership

There are several different forms of church government, also known as “polity.” The three most common are “Episcopal,” “congregational,” and “Presbyterian.”

Episcopal polity is a form of church government in which the chief local authorities are called bishops, who practice their authorities in the dioceses and conferences or synods. The bishop supervises the clergy within a local jurisdiction and is the representative both to secular structures and within the hierarchy of the church.

Congregationalist polity, often known as congregationalism, is a system of church governance in which every local church congregation is independent, ecclesiastically sovereign, or “autonomous.” As such, most decisions are made by majority consent of the entire congregation.

Presbyterian (or presbyteral) polity is a method of church governance typified by the rule of assemblies of presbyters, or elders. Each local church is governed by a body of elected elders. Groups of local churches are governed by a higher assembly of elders known as the presbytery

The polity of Agape Home Fellowship closely resembles that of presbyteral and congregational polity.

Follow the links below to learn more information about AHF church leadership and structure:

Elders and the Presbytery

Deacons and the Diaconate


House Church Shepherds